UARCTIC 2021 session on the Agreement on Enhancing International Arctic Scientific Cooperation

13th May 2021

The following session will run as part of the UArctic Congress 2021 on Tuesday 18th May from 0900 to 1000 GMT. Please note, you will need to register for the UArctic Congress in order to take part in the session. You can do so from the UArctic Congress website.

Session Title

The Agreement on Enhancing International Arctic Scientific Cooperation: Empowering institutions and individuals

Session Description

This session brings together representatives from academia and research community, ranging from ECRs to department leads and senior management, to share practical examples of taking leadership to implement the Agreement on Enhancing International Arctic Scientific Cooperation. The aim of the session is to encourage a constructive dialogue and inspire individuals on different levels of research hierarchy to think of how their research and institution contributes to the bigger picture of international arctic science cooperation and delivery of the agreement. This UK led session will feature speakers from Arctic and non-Arctic states. The session will be structured around key pre-set questions, prompting a dynamic discussion on how to successfully action the agreement and effectively build partnerships with international arctic players.

  1. Where to start? How institutions, teams and individuals can benefit from multilateral international arctic organisations and platforms.
  2. How to empower leadership? Role of an individual researcher. Practical examples of initiate new projects and collaborations.
  3. How to keep the momentum? Developing capabilities and mechanisms to support continuation and delivery.

List of Speakers and their Topics

Confirmed speakers:

  • Saule Akhmetkaliyeva, Head of UK-Russia Arctic ECR Collaborations, UK Polar Network / PhD candidate, Manchester Metropolitan University
  • Dr Marina Kalinina, UArctic Vice-President Interregional Cooperation / Advisor to the NArFU Rector for International cooperation, Northern Arctic Federal University Northern (Arctic) Federal University
  • Henry Burgess, Head of UK Arctic Office / Vice-President, IASC
  • Dr Paul Mann, Associate Professor in Environmental Sciences Northumbria University
  • Dr Margareta Johansson, INTERACT Coordinator / Associate Professor, Lund University

Session Format

Panel discussion

Session Convener/s and Affiliations

Rosa Degerman

UK Science and Innovation Network, United Kingdom

 Tatiana Iakovleva

UK Science and Innovation Network, United Kingdom