International Experimental Facilities

The links below provide information on some of the ongoing international experiments in which the UK are involved:

SAMNET — The UK Sub-Auroral Magnetometer Network

Operates 5 stations in the UK, the Faroe Islands, Iceland and Russia, each equipped with fluxgate magnetometers recording variations in the Earth’s magnetic field.

SuperDARN UK — UK Super Dual Auroral Radar Network Consortium

Operates three upper atmospheric radars at facilities in the Falkland Islands, Finland and Iceland, as part of the International Super Dual Auroral Radar Network (SuperDARN).

CUTLASS — Co-operative UK Twin Auroral Sounding System

A twin-station HF radar facility located in Iceland and Finland that is part of SuperDARN UK.

EISCAT — European Incoherent Scatter Scientific Association

Operates three incoherent scatter radar systems, an Ionospheric Heating facility and a Dynasonde in Northern Scandinavia.